I love the Oquirrh Mountain Temple!

Oquirrh Mountain Temple

Oquirrh Mountain Temple

Hi everyone who still keeps up with this blog! I love the Oquirrh Mountain Temple! I went on a double date(ish) to go have a tour of it before it is dedicated in August, and it was AWESOME! It was soo pretty, inside and out! We got to go through the whole place, even the Celestial Room (which was gorgeous!), and then outside it was soo pretty because their was a beautiful golden/red sunset in the west and a huge thunderstorm rolling into the Salt Lake valley from the southeast. I’ll have to put some pictures up when I can, but I’ll have to get them from Lucy since she was the only one with a camera. You should go! It’s free! Or go to any temple open house you can when one is in your area.. you won’t regret it! Let me throw down some links for y’all..

http://www.ldschurchtemples.com/oquirrhmountain/

http://www.lds.org/reservations/0,10751,1619-1-561,00.html

Man, life is good! I can’t complain, despite having my Econ 381 final this week! Maybe it’s summer and that’s why it’s all good, but I love life right now. I know I’ve been TERRIBLE with writing on my blog, but I decided today I would put something up. I’ve written a lot of different random spiritual thoughts I’ve had in my palm phone.. and I was thinking maybe I’ll list some of those. I’d love to get any feelings or opinions on any of these! Wish me luck on my macroecon final too!

  • Spirits in the next life maybe take investigators that they are sharing the gospel with to scripture study, church, sunday school, and lessons that their descendants are giving in this world so that they may learn about God’s work here on earth.
  • Random thought for people who don’t believe in miracles: Miracles are happening all the time all around us and to us. They happen so much that we think it is normal life and we are used to it. When we decide to believe in God, His love, and miracles then we will begin to see them.
  • It is a much longer trip home when you worry the entire time. Even though we have so many reasons to stress and worry we can choose to not. We can choose to not fear and put faith in that Heavenly Father will make the difference in the trip. Then the trip back to Him will pass away with a glad heart and like a dream.
  • Whenever I have the chance to teach, or speak on gospel topics, I think I tend to teach very specifically because I feel like we all have strong general testimonies of the gospel, but we need to continue to gain deeper and more specific testimonies of the gospel. We do need to build up our base of the most important gospel principles, namely faith, repentance, and the atonement of Christ, but I try to teach that simultaneously. Ideally, we might study the basics on our own enough to where the church leaders know that they can teach the more specific doctrine and meat of the gospel.
  • The dawn after your night of personal Gethsemane will be a blessing of a small vision of your entire life so that you will see the objects on the horizon and you will see a silhouette of your life. The Lord will grace you with understanding of what that night of agony will do for you in your life.
  • Revelations 1:5 “And His like unto fine brass, as if they burned in a furnace; as his voice as the sound of many waters.” The Lord’s voice is like the great rushing of waters.. If you were living in the day of the Bible and Book of Mormon times, and you heard an airplane engine how would you describe it to somebody else? You would think of the loudest and busiest other noise you can think of, which for them would have been a waterfall or fast, rushing water. So this description probably doesn’t mean God speaks like a waterfall, but that it is full of power and might. Doctrine & Covenants 110:3 “His eyes were as a flame of fire; the hair of his head was white like the pure snow; his countenance shone above the brightness of the sun; and his voice was the sound of the rushing of great waters, even the voice of Jehovah […]”
  • The Lord needs faithful, obedient servants in EVERY area of the world. In every career, every study, and every nation the Lord will work through is servants to move His work forward, and to bless people’s lives.

Yay for blogging about the gospel!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Dani

     /  June 15, 2009

    that temple is gorgeous!

  2. Keli

     /  June 16, 2009

    What a beautiful temple! It is always special to be able to go through the tours before a temple is dedicated.

  3. Mom

     /  June 16, 2009

    Where did you get the first quote? Interesting thoughts!

  4. I’m not sure if you mean my first bullet point? That was just my own thoughts..

Leave a comment