My Dream

I had a dream last night.  I was with a group of people, and we were all beginners together. There were certain other people that were called on to become something more. They were given a responsibility that was really respected and demanding. Those people could fly. We were all expected to learn how to fly in the coming weeks and months. Some would never believe they could learn. I knew the trick, though. I knew that if you just believed then it would work. So I jumped in the air, and even as I came back down and the others thought I had failed I knew I just had to expect I would start to fly. And I did. I would hover and it would seem like I was about to lose it and fall back down, but I didn’t doubt, and I would extend my arms and soar through the air!

There came a time where I was expected to do it. I had to show that I could while everyone else was still learning the trick. I looked up at a low cloud and decided to reach for that. So I jumped, and though I thought it might not work, I decided to believe it would, because there was no chance of it working unless I chose to believe it would. And as I hit the peak of my jump, started coming down with everyone disappointed, I stopped mid-air and started to hover upwards. I extended my arms and flew right up to the cloud! I was about to reach it with my hands when I lost focus on what I was doing and instead thought about what I was achieving. Just as I was going to touch the cloud I stopped and returned to the ground. Everyone was incredibly impressed with my achievement, as I was too.  They invited me to the honor of joining the few who became something more… to fly for everyone.

Ether 12:6, 10-12, “[…] I would show unto the world that faith is things which are hoped for and not seen; wherefore, dispute not because ye see not, for ye receive no witness until after the trial of your faith […] Behold it was by faith that they of old were called after the holy order of God. Wherefore, by faith was the law of Moses given. But in the gift of his Son hath God prepared a more excellent way: and it is by faith that it hath been fulfilled. For if there be no faith among the children of men God can do no miracle among them; wherefore, he showed not himself until after their faith.”

 

Kent

"Flying Child" by Quint Buchholz

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

