OBEDIENCE!!

SO.. I HAD an awesome post ready to write.. I HAD an awesome video that would have put punch into that post.. and I HAD been excited to finish it. But then I found out that one of the only downfalls I have found with having my blog on WordPress is that they don’t have free video support! Bah! And I’m not going through the trouble of getting a YouTube account just to post something on here. I’m sorry.. I’m just lazy like that. BUT! I can definitely explain the video. It was a video of something that I LOVED to do on my mission.  I had the HUMBLING opportunity to be in a leadership position on my mission.  Missionaries would report to my companion and I on how investigators, members and missionaries were doing within their jurisdiction.  It was a wonderful chance to seek the Lord’s guidance on a daily basis to lead.  One of the best parts of the responsibility was when missionaries called in about new commitments they had made with their investigators about getting baptized.  If a missionary companionship were able to make a date for when an investigator was going to be baptized then they would call us up, report it, and we were ALWAYS excited to hear about it!

The person that took the phone call would motion to the other 3 missionaries living in our apartment and we would all run over to the phone. Then once the announcement was made we would all start yelling and chanting, “BAPTISM! BAPTISM! BAPTISM!! WE GOT A BAPTISM!!” It was awesome!! We timed ourselves once and found out that we would be yelling for up to 3 minutes! We were loud enough where you could hear it across the street too! Man those were good days!!

Actually! I’ll just find the YouTube video that I just watched and post that instead!

Yay for Mormonism!

So my point that this post was going to be about is that now that we are home we need other motivations and celebrations to keep us aiming for what we want to see in this world. As a missionary, seeing someone get baptized was one of the sweetest moments because you saw someone change their life to be centered around Christ and then make a commitment with Him to continue being obedient. I think the anthem we should be cheering now (I mean now that we aren’t on missions) is OBEDIENCE! OBEDIENCE! OBEDIENCE!! This is the greatest act we can do in our lives. We ought to commit to being obedient every day. That’s when we will REALLY see the Lord’s blessings in our lives!

Pres. Henry B. Eyring:
“Hard as things seem today, they will be better in the next day if you choose to serve the Lord this day with your whole heart. Your circumstances may not be improved in all the ways which you desire. But you will have been given new strength to carry your burdens and new confidence that when your burdens become too heavy, the Lord, whom you have served, will carry what you cannot. He knows how. He prepared long ago. He suffered your infirmities and your sorrows when He was in the flesh so that He would know how to succor you.”

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. OBEDIENCE!! | Mormon Bloggers

Leave a Reply

