“Sleep had fled from my eyes..” – Joseph Smith

(Written on Tuesday, March 24)

How experience changes our perspective.

I’m having a pretty good day today. My mood is up, my attitude is positive, and I have hope that the rest of the day will turn out well also. What happened yesterday, to give me such a change? The greatest change was of perspective I gained from yesterday’s quite insane experience. Yesterday I lived my life only going on 2 hours of broken sleep from the night before. That alone is interesting, but on top of that I have learned that the Lord gives us all our sleep and He gives us all our energy. I was going to bed, planning on waking up at 5:30 to finish a paper due Monday, and as I prayed I asked that I could learn about the Atonement that night.

Who knew what kind of response I’d get! I got in bed and laid there waiting for sleep to come. One and a half hours later I was still laying there! My alarm clock lies right next to my head, and it is a bright red, so I never miss it. So I had no problem rolling over and seeing the minutes pass by. Now, I don’t really remember looking at my clock and seeing the time in between 2 and 3:30 am, but for all of the rest I’m pretty sure I just laid there! In my moments of sleep I had a pretty crazy dream, though, where I was in the bookstore and some guy came in with a gun and ended up shooting me. I wrapped the dream around my head for the day when I got up around 5:30 and started on my paper. I even had my roommate give me a priesthood blessing, since the whole night shook me up a bit.

Amazingly, the whole day I was pretty good though! Yes, a little loopy at times, and I had a small headache by the end of the day. But really I wasn’t dead tired, and I wasn’t falling asleep in class or at work either. It amazed me how much I felt like any other day. Even at the end, when I was getting ready for bed at 10:30 pm, it felt kinda like any other day. I was amazed at how much control Heavenly Father has over the energy we have, and the sleep that He gives us.

I do not have narcolepsy, but as I laid there in bed, waiting to fall asleep, I realized that it is completely up to Heavenly Father to fall asleep. He is the one that gives us the power to do so. Parallel to that, as I went through my day I was amazed at how much energy I was being given, even gaining energy through the day, and I realized that He also gives us the energy to make it through the day.

How humbling it all is, and what a change in perspective this experience has given me! We are in debt to our God for the energy of the day, and the sleep of the night.

Alma 37:37- “Counsel with the Lord in all thy doings, and he will direct thee for good; yea, when thou liest down at night lie down unto the Lord, that he may watch over you in your sleep; and when thou risest in the morning let thy heart be full of thanks unto God; and if ye do these things, ye shall be lifted up at the last day.”

I have a question though… What does it all have to do with the atonement? If I was being taught something about the atonement, then what was it? What should I take away from this, other than how humbling it all is? Or maybe this was an evidence of Heavenly Father’s power over His child. I don’t know.

I just wanted to throw a picture up for fun..

I just wanted to throw a picture up for fun..

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. miked

     /  March 30, 2009

    dude, thats what life is about. great “trip”. Perspective is everything, love ya.

Leave a Reply

