Eternal Friends

Holiday Beards

I'm in the yellow. Top to bottom (2.5 wks, 3 days, 1 wks, 2 wks)

It has been a LONG time! I’m sorry! I didn’t think I would get distracted from my blog so much because of being home for the Christmas vacation. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! It was great to be home with my family and let go of the stress that had been building through the semester… I guess I’m ready to do it all over again, though, since classes start up tomorrow! Hopefully my schedule, both with classes and work, is enough for me to handle it all. I know that my Savior will be there to pick up the slack of my inability as needed.

There is nothing better, though, than being with family and friends! Today is a good time to talk about the wonderful influence that I feel from those around me.

Christ spoke and taught on what manner of people that we are to become. He taught us of character, principles, virtue that is needed to become one of His disciples. We meet these people in our lives. Many times you recognize them instantly as that high caliber of person. Somehow by simply talking and interacting around them you understand how you personally might become better. They are lifters in the lives of everyone around them. Christ spoke in Mat. 5 and again in 3rd Nephi after he had resurrected saying, “And blessed are all the pure in heart, for they shall see God. And blessed are all the peacemakers, for they shall be called the children of God… Verily, verily, I say unto you, I give unto you to be the salt of the earth… Verily, verily, I say unto you, I give unto you to be the light of this people. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hid.”

I want to tell you about one person in my life that has been exactly what Christ has commanded us to become. This is a very deep and personal friend of mine. And they have literally changed my life. I have only known my friend for a few months, and I am eternally grateful for the influence they have had in my life. This friend deeply understands the gospel and has taught me so much about my own understanding of the gospel. I have learned to really look at the core of the gospel of Christ and not only the typical teachings. The scriptures of the Lord have opened up to a clearer perspective of what the Lord expects out of me. The atonement, faith, righteous works, charity, selflessness, trust all have been shown through example and love as I have seen this friend help both friends and complete strangers.

I am so grateful for the example of love and gratitude that I have experienced. Never has there been a time of knowing my friend that I haven’t felt uplifted and better about myself. I am SO grateful for this friendship. I will always be grateful for it. I am so humbled by the Lord’s hand in my life in this way. I hope that you all have those friends that you are always learning from, whether they are family or friends or coworkers. I will never stop learning from my closest of friends.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Good for you!

  2. Keli

     /  January 6, 2009

    It was so fun to see you for Christmas!! We love you so much!

Leave a Reply

