Halloween and a Slap in the Face w/ the Lord

Yay for Halloween! I’m so proud of my costume! It turned out great! Even for figuring it out an hour before the party! If you don’t get it, that’s fine. I wish I had a spade sticking out of me, it would have looked more legit like a gardening mom. That was the plan, but I couldn’t find nor cut a spade that fast. With this I just did a mom-yelling-at-her-kids voice and explained that my kids accidentally killed me while playing with a badminton rackets.

Now to the lesson I learned this past week within my gospel study. It really is something applicable to life, and it helped humble me quite a bit. So I’m busy right? I’m so busy with this semester’s classes and work that I honestly don’t see how I could get busier without dying. Somebody asked me where I’ve been lately because they hadn’t seen me in a while. I said somewhere between Poli Sci class and Death :). Sometimes I get so busy though I start thinking I know what’s best for me and not God. I got a great scripture explaining this. It’s from the Book of Mormon in 2 Nephi (like 2 Kings or 2 Corinthians in the bible there is more than one book of Nephi (pronounced Knee-Fi)) in chapter 9, verse 28: “O that cunning plan of the evil one! O the vainness, and the frailties, and the foolishness of men! When they are learned they think they are wise, and they hearken not unto the counsel of God, for they set it aside, supposing they know of themselves, wherefore, their wisdom is foolishness and it profiteth them not. And they shall perish.” I love this scripture! It reminds me so much of those times when I have thought, “Pff, I know what’s best for me. I know myself and my limits.” And then I usually completely fail, or get overloaded too much and I have to crawl back to my Heavenly Father hoping he’ll be merciful enough to guide me out of my problems.

As I studied on Tuesday, when I read this scripture, I had been slipping on my nightly prayers. Not a good thing if you want to get the Lord’s help throughout the day. I just was getting so tired at night that I would end up falling asleep before I would pull myself out of bed to pray. Well, chapter 9 in 2 Nephi is ALL about the Savior and how he suffered for all my sins and shortcomings. It was a great slap in the face to remember, if I am disobedient then I am causing my Savior to have more reasons to suffer in the Garden of Gethsemane. I was once again guided to read this chapter even though the place I am currently studying is a good 300 pages after this spot. So again I am so thankful for the patience the Lord has with me, and I resolved to do better following that morning study. I bet ya anything if I hadn’t studied the scriptures that morning I wouldn’t have decided to do better. The thought probably wouldn’t have even entered my mind. I would have figured I know of myself and that my own wisdom was right compared to it is foolishness and it profiteth them not. It reminds me of a scripture in the bible (KJV) in Luke 16:15 when the Lord says, “And he said unto them, Ye are they which justify yourselves before men; but God knoweth your hearts: for that which is highly esteemed among men is abomination in the sight of God.” I hope and pray that I won’t be so foolish as to think that my thoughts are the best for me, and I hope I keep relying on my Savior to help me through this hectic next week.

Despite the racket in my stomach, it was a fun party!

Despite the racket in my stomach, it was a fun party! (My friend Kate is the mime)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

